Racism

Magical coup


Doc Rivers confirms he hasn’t a clue, but that doesn’t keep him from following the herd in condemning the man who pays him $7 million. Yahoo! reports:

“I’m glad that he did it,” Rivers said of Sterling’s apology. “I don’t have much more comments than that. But I think that’s what you have to do, and you should do it. He probably should have done it right away.

“…I personally don’t need [an apology]. But I think the right thing is always when you make a mistake, you should man up and apologize, so it’s good that he did it.”

Rivers was glad to hear Johnson attended the Clippers’ 101-99 victory over the Thunder on Sunday, but he didn’t think much of Sterling’s latest comments about Johnson.

“I’ll stand by Magic every day of the year because I’ve known him for a long time,” Rivers said. “Having said that, I don’t know what’s going on out there. I tried not to get involved in that part of it right now.

“Whatever it is, that doesn’t sound like much of an apology to me. I’m going to leave it alone because I don’t know exactly the context. I think it’s safer to do that.”

“What I’ve decided to do is anytime anything comes on, I usually turn, not because of some protest or anything, I just don’t need the clutter right now,” Rivers said. “I got the basketball operations. I got the team. We’re in the middle of the playoffs. So for right now what I’ve decided to do is just kind of tune out, if you want to say. It’s just right for me right now.

“I’m sure at some point I will sit down and listen and hear. I’ll hear it anyway from somebody what’s been said. I’ll probably react from there. I’m just too focused on what we’re doing right now.”

Rivers’ pontifications on Sterling are cued by the hearsay that attends to “racist comments,” a phrase reporters repeat like dogs doing tricks for treats. If Rivers hasn’t heard the tape, and he hasn’t heard the apology, why is he an authority on either?

Like the illegally recorded tape, close to 100 percent of the people showing outrage at Anderson Cooper’s interview of Donald Sterling to prove their moral superiority haven’t seen it. If they had, they would have heard this exchange, invalidating the whole brouhaha from the beginning:

Sterling: “So, when she said to me, ‘I’m going to bring four gorgeous black guys to the game,’ players she was referring to, either football or basketball, I was a little jealous, maybe. And I—”

Cooper: “When did she say that?”

Sterling: “Just—just before. And I said to her, don’t bring them to the game, because of my jealousy. I mean, in any event, she never brought anybody to the game. It was like she was baiting me just to say things.”

Cooper: “So, you’re saying she, before the recording that we heard, she had said she was going to bring four black players, and she specifically said black players?”

Sterling: “Yes.”

Cooper: “And you’re saying that’s what this conversation sparked from, stemmed from?”

Sterling: “Yes.”

Sterling is too honest and/or senile to deceive. We know this because during the interview he ranged on Magic Johnson and racial topics, none of which was racist or even necessarily false. You just don’t say them during a CNN interview, because regardless of the content of the comments the racial reactionaries will call you names.

Sterling’s public philandering is hardly mentioned in CNN’s teaser article, showing what little the one-flesh bonding of marriage means, insofar as it’s not being redefined. No, in modern America’s reordered values, Sterling’s real sin is privately confessed “racism.”

Guess who was photographed glad-handing the commissioner at Staples Center on Sunday. Any coincidence the up-for-sale Clippers mounted a historic comeback in the fourth quarter with future owner Magic Johnson in the stands?

He was interviewed during the game:

While Johnson has already been mentioned as a potential buyer for the club, which could sell for upwards of $600 million, he said it was too soon to discuss that possibility.

“I would definitely take a look at it because I am a business man,” he said. “But we here in Los Angeles, whether it’s myself or somebody else, we just want an owner who will include everybody, who will understand diversity and not include all races of people.”

Read that again. Magic said understanding diversity means not including all races (i.e., excluding some races). This is more racist on its face than anything Sterling has been illegally recorded as saying.

Meanwhile, Lebron James wants “all Sterlings” out of the NBA.

“As players, we want what’s right and we don’t feel like no one in his family should be able to own the team,” James said after the Heat practiced for Monday’s Game 4 of the Eastern Conference semifinals in Brooklyn against the Nets.

What wrong has Shelly Sterling committed? Is she too white? Too old? No, she’s too not Magic Johnson. Listen to the future owner, in his own words: “First the fans wouldn’t like it. The players definitely wouldn’t like it, everybody would boycott.” Despite being Sterling’s only real victim in all this, Magic wants to dispossess her, too. What a farce.

And what a coup for Magic. Not only does he run the Clippers, but he runs the NBA. He may as well be president. After all, he speaks for everyone.

About Joseph Dooley

I’m 28 years old and I’ve been writing since I learned how to type. I grew up in Texas but I lived nearly 5 years in the belly of the liberal beast, Maryland. Through my writing, I hope to convince readers of the truth and help to reverse the suicidal momentum of the present. As Francis Schaeffer wrote: “Any ways in which the system is still working is largely due to the sheer inertia of the continuation of the past principles. But this borrowing cannot go on forever.” Check out my blog, "Life's complexity and mortal weight."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

"There are two ways to conquer and enslave a nation. One is by sword. The other is by debt." -John Adams 1826

PLEASE SHARE US ON FACEBOOK & TWITTER

Red Pill Report is a labor of love for the many contributors who post here. They share their thoughts and talents with us because, like you, they love this great Country and hope to contribute in some small way to returning America to the principles on which it was founded. How can you help? Please share our articles with friends and family. Share buttons for Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, and Email are found at the bottom of each article. Our writers also love your comments, so please share your thoughts with us, when you can. We appreciate our readers, and would love to have more! Thank you!

Top Weekly Posts

Archives

Topics

